IMCA’s best Modified drivers battle in Harris Auto Racing Race of Champions

first_img1997 – Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice, Neb. 2016 – Ricky Thornton Jr., Chandler, Ariz. 2015 – Smith The 31st annual Harris Race of Champions matches 12 of IMCA’s best Modified drivers in a 12-lap contest on Saturday, Sept. 7, the final day of the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s. 1995 – Rick Gustin, Marshalltown And Jason Wolla will return to Boone Speedway in September, looking to defend his Harris Auto Racing Race of Champions title on the biggest stage in all of dirt track racing.  2010 – Clint Hatlestad, Glencoe, Minn. 1989 – Wayne Larson, Ames 2002 – Ron Pope, Mason City “You have to go into this race with an open mind, be willing to change what you’re doing and adapt to track conditions” he said. “I think that when you try to turn it up mentally is when you make more mistakes, or at least I do, so you have to keep your mind clear and approach it like any other race. Regardless of whether you’re racing one car or 500, there’s only one place that matters and that’s first.”  2014 – Keith White, Little River Academy, Texas 1999 – Noble 2004 – Scott Hogan, Vinton 2007 – Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown Jason Wolla aims to race his way back to victory lane in the upcoming Harris Auto Racing Modified Race of Champions, on Sept. 7 during the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography) 2001 – John Logue, Boone Wolla became the 22nd different driver, and the first from North Dakota, to win the Harris RoC. He appreciates the achievement every bit as much today as he did while standing trophy in hand on the infield stage last September.  2009 – Jay Noteboom, Hinton 1996 – Kelly Boen, Henderson, Colo. 2000 – Al Hejna, Ventura The race pays $1,000 to win plus $100 for each lap led. Wolla took home $2,000 for his 2018 exploits. 2012 – Stoa 2013 – Dustin Smith, Lake City 1994 – Davis Drivers eligible to qualify on Thursday, Sept. 5 for the race of champions include former national and Super Nationals champions and race of champions winners, 2019 track champions/point leader or the second-place driver if the leader is not in attendance at Super Nationals, and former regional champions crowned since 1993.  2003 – David Murray Jr., Oberlin, Kan. Two hundred and five drivers, from 23 states and Canada, have qualified for one or more of the first 30 Harris RoC events. 1993 – Rex Merritt, Billings, Mo. 1998 – Saathoff 1991 – Bill Davis Sr., Des Moines 2008 – Johnathan Thimmesch, Aurora 2011 – Jimmy Gustin “Any time you go to Boone and compete with that level of racers, it’s a big deal. “I enjoyed the race and hopefully we can repeat,” said IMCA’s 2017 national champion. “It means a lot to have this win on your resume.” Harris Auto Racing Race of Champions Winners 2006 – Hejna 2005 – Kevin Stoa, Polk City 1990 – Larson BOONE, Iowa – It’s been one of the biggest Modified races on the IMCA schedule for more than three decades.  1992 – Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie, Minn. 2017 – Kyle Strickler, Mooresville, N.C. 2018 – Jason Wolla, Ray, N.D.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *